Okinawa will be on the world stage.




In 2023, the FIBA Basketball World Cup will be co-hosted for the first time by the Philippines/ Japan (Okinawa)/ Indonesia.

FIBA has granted the rights to organize the “FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023“ to three countries, namely: Philippines/Japan(Okinawa)/Indonesia.
This is the first time in history that competitions will be held in many countries. As the representative of the Philippines/ Japan (Okinawa)/ Indonesia, the Honorary Chair of the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Manuel V. Panguilinan said, “FIBA has awarded the hosting rights for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 to the Philippines/ Japan (Okinawa)/ Indonesia. We are very happy with this implementation decision. The World Cup is an event that basketball fans in these three countries are very proud of. It is hoped that with this event, all people in the three countries will spread the spirit of dedication to basketball throughout the region. “



The games in Japan will be held at the Okinawa Arena.
Okinawa City will be the world’s stage!

The 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup will be held from August 25 to September 10, 2023 and will be co-hosted by three countries, namely: Indonesia, Japan and the Philippines.
The group phase will take place in Indonesia, Japan (Okinawa), and the Philippines, with the final phase taking place in Manila, the capital of the Philippines. In the qualifying phase, 80 representative teams will compete in each of the six blocks for 15 months, from November 2021 to February 2023 for the World Cup.


The trophy will be awarded to the winner of the FIBA Basketball World Cup, an international competition for men's basketball.
The trophy’s name comes from basketball inventor James Naismith.
The Naismith trophy was first presented in the 1967 tournament.
It was renewed in the 1998 tournament.This second trophy was made by a goldsmith from Germany, and the design was inspired by then FIBA Secretary General Renato William Jones when he was on a long journey.
The first trophy was donated to the foundation of Spanish FIBA Hall of Famer Pedro Ferrandiz.
The third generation trophy has been used since the 2019 tournament, and was unveiled at the 2019 tournament qualifying draw.


Introducing Tournament Success Records

FIBA Basketball World Cup is an official men’s basketball competition sponsored by FIBA. Games are held every four years in the middle of the Summer Olympics year.
Until 2010, this competition was called the FIBA World Championship.

YEAR 2019 2014 2010 2006 2002 1998 1994 1990 1986 1982 1978 1974 1970 1967 1963 1959 1954 1950
HOST NATION China Spain Turkey Japan USA Greece Canada Argentina Spain Colombia Philippines Puerto Rico Yugoslavia Uruguay Brazil Chile Brazil Argentina
CHAMPION Spain USA USA Spain Yugoslavia Yugoslavia USA Yugoslavia USA Soviet Union Yugoslavia Soviet Union Yugoslavia Soviet Union Brazil Brazil USA Argentina
RUNNERS-UP Argentina Serbia Turkey Greece Argentina Russia Russia Soviet Union Soviet Union USA Soviet Union Yugoslavia Brazil Yugoslavia Yugoslavia USA Brazil USA
THIRD PLACE France France Lithuania USA Germany USA Croatia USA Yugoslavia Yugoslavia Brazil USA Soviet Union Brazil Soviet Union Chile Philippines Chile
MVP Ricky Rubio
Kyrie Irving
Kevin Durant
Pau Gasol
Dirk Nowitzki
Dejan Bodiroga
Shaquille O'Neal
Toni Kukoc
Drazen Petrovic
Rolando Frazer
Drazen Dalipagic
Dragan Kicanovic
Sergei Belov
Ivo Daneu
Marques Wlamir
Pasos Amaury
James Kirby Minter
Oscar Furlong


Looking Back at the FIBA Basketball World Cup via Photos

FIBA Basketball World Cup is the world's leading basketball tournament.
Here are some famous scenes from the past that you will want to see again and again.